ian shaw

A GHOST IN EVERY BAR - New album out August 2012
multi-award winning singer Ian Shaw's homage to lyricist Fran Landesman featuring composer Simon Wallace on piano

‘Frankly i was tired of hearing 'Spring...' until I heard Ian Shaw sing it’ Fran Landesman

A GHOST IN EVERY BAR, THE LYRICS OF FRAN LANDESMAN features Shaw accompanied by the composer of 12 of the tracks in this 15 song collection, Simon Wallace. Four of these songs from the enduring Landesman/Wallace partnership have never been released before. Landesman who died in July 2011 is quoted as saying that Shaw’s interpretation of the famous and much covered “Spring Can Really Hang You Up The Most”, written with Tommy Wolf, was her favourite and Shaw gives a definitive rendering of this song on this collection. “Small Day Tomorrow” which Landesman wrote with Bob Dorough is also included adding further texture to the album. The CD closes with the other classic song from the Landesman/Wolf collaboration, the haunting “Ballad Of The Sad Young Men”, which is enhanced by the addition of flugelhorn (Sue Richardson). The collection is otherwise entirely voice and piano with Shaw accompanying himself on “Only Why No More”, “Killing Time” and “Nothing Lasts Forever” making these particularly intimate tracks. Shaw has recorded single tracks with Landesman lyrics on six albums in his back catalogue, but this album fulfils a promise he made to her to devote an entire album to her songs. The album was engineered and produced by Neal Richardson.

March 2011 - Ian Shaw's The Abbey Road Sessions is launched.

Playing to a packed house with as many stars in the audience as on stage, Ian played 2 sell out gigs at Pizza Express Jazz Club to launch the album. Jazzwise gave the concert a five star review: "Shaw was positively fizzing with excitement. It must have also been the launch of his lushly arranged latest album The Abbey Road Sessions... he’s in danger of becoming a national treasure" Mike Flynn. The album is released on 14th March.


"It was a joy to watch them dismantle and re-build well-known tunes, making them afresh, and to witness how seven highly individual musicians can meld into a single tight unit." Robert Ryan

“Shaw is at the peak of his powers, especially here alongside Brit-jazz royalty Peter Ind”
Time Out

"his voice has never sounded better . . . Shaw's take-no-prisoners approach carried the day". Jazzwise

“a singer in confident form at the top of his game.” Sandy Brown Jazz

“a revolutionary who breaks down all musical barriers, and just happens to make the most wonderful noise I've ever heard” Liane Carroll

In the summer of 2010, Ian Shaw played four shows at Ronnie Scott's with a stunning collection of new arrangements, from a darkly powerful take on Cole Porter's "GET OUT OF TOWN", through Dori Kaymmi's "OBSESSION", to a shimmering new reharmonization of the Michael Jackson classic, "HUMAN NATURE".Two days later, Ian and his regular collaborator, guitarist DAVID PRESTON went into the famous ABBEY ROAD STUDIOS with a cross generational sextet, that includes bass legend, PETER IND (Chet Baker, Lennie Tristano, Mal Waldron), the US drummer, GENE CALDERAZZO and the fiery young Russian altoist, ZHENYA STRIGALEV and laid down 13 tracks.The novelist Robert Ryan was present. He said: “I was fortunate enough to be there for part of that day at Abbey Road, so I find it hard to dissociate listening to this album from the electricity and excitement that sparked in both the studio and the booth, as Ian and the band parsed the whole jazz-song lexicon in just 13 tracks and seven highly individual musicians melded into a single tight unit.”

The Abbey Road Sesions, 2011 (SPR012CD)

1 Get Out Of Town
2 Human Nature
3 Skylark
4 Obsession
5 Stuck In The Middle With You
6 Since I Fell For You
7 The Lady's In Love With You
8 I'm Through With Love/Day Dream
9 Be Cool
10 I Get Along Without You Very Well
11 Darn That Dream
12 Today I Sing The Blues
13 Stairway To The Stars

Somewhere Towards Love, 2009 (SPR008CD)

Splash Point Records released Ian Shaw's first ever solo vocal/piano album. This stunning collection of classic and contemporary ballads recorded in our studios in April '09 was released in October '09.

1 Close as pages in a book
2 Somewhere towards love
3 Company
4 If love were all
5 Into my arms
6 Scars
7 You must believe in spring
8 Here’s to life
9 Who can I turn to?
10 Just having fun
11 Memories of you
12 Watching the white wheat (Begeilio'r gwenith gwyn)

Sad Sweet Song, 2008 (SPR011SG)

Splash Point Records released its first download-only single in November '08 at the London Jazz Festival. It's a beautiful melancholy ballad written by Humphrey Lyttelton called "Sad Sweet Song", that the late great man had specifically asked Ian to record... Ian recorded the song at Splash Point Studios and invited Sue Richardson to play trumpet on it in tribute to Humph. As a result it was performed at the BBC Jazz Awards in July, and prompted Humph's band to invite Sue to gig with them. It is be available on all providers.


We're also delighted that Ian is now signed to Splash Point Publishing - listen to his beautiful current album "Lifejacket" on www.IanShaw.biz The album includes the stunning duet with Liane Carroll "42" which we think should be a number 1!
home | news | buy CD's | liane carroll | sue richardson | ian shaw | andy drudy disorder | gallery | press | about us |contact us | links